If you are moving to New Jersey, then you may need to transfer your license and register your car. Or perhaps you have a teenager who is ready to get their NJ drivers license for the first time. It may seem like a lot of work to obtain your New Jersey license due to the many required steps you need to follow and the documents you need to gather up. But with the correct information, you can learn how to get a NJ driver license in no time. Here’s what you need to know about transferring your license to New Jersey or obtaining a brand new State of NJ license.
Depending on how old you are, there are different requirements for obtaining a New Jersey driver’s license. Before receiving your New Jersey license, there are several steps you will need to complete. You are required to apply for a new NJ license if you:
When getting a NJ driver license, it is essential to bring along the proper forms of identification. For any type of permit or license in NJ, you must follow the 6 Points of ID system. This requires you to bring one primary document, one secondary document, proof of NJ residency, and proof of your social security number or proof of ITIN.
Primary documents include:
Secondary documents include:
Proof of NJ residency includes:
Proof of social security includes:
Proof of ITIN includes:
If you are 16 and wish to begin driving, then the first step to getting your NJ driver’s license is to obtain your driver license learning permit. This is a part of the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program, which allows you to drive accompanied in the front seat by an adult driver over the age of 21 with at least three years of driving experience. Other restrictions with a special learner permit include:
The first step to getting your Special Learner Permit is to enroll in a licensed driving school. You can find a complete list of driving schools in NJ on the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s website. Then, you will need to provide:
After you have collected your documents, you will need to head to a motor vehicle agency with your legal guardian and certified driving instructor. Your driving instructor will then purchase you a permit ($10.00).
Then, you will need to pass a vision test with 20/50 visual acuity. You will also be required to pass the knowledge test, which is a 50-question test about common driving rules and laws. You must answer at least 40 of the questions correctly to pass. You can find plenty of NJ permit practice test options online. After you pass these tests, you must then complete six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with your licensed instructor.
Once your instruction hours are complete, then you may return to the motor vehicle agency with your instructor to have your permit validated. You will then be required to purchase your decal to be placed on your license plate. Once your decal is in place and your permit is validated, you may begin your supervised driving. This permit is valid for 6 months or until you turn 17.
If you are over the age of 17, then you will skip the Special Learner Permit and apply for the Examination Permit instead. The Examination Permit allows you to properly prepare for the road test and requires you to drive supervised at all times by a licensed driver who is over the age of 21 and a holder of a valid New Jersey License. If you are under the age of 21, you will have the same restrictions as the Special Learner Permit holders.
To get your examination permit, gather your 6 Points of ID and your parent or guardian (if you are under 18), and head to a motor vehicle agency. You will then complete the Examination Permit application and purchase your permit ($10.00). Then, you must pass the vision test and the knowledge test mentioned previously.
Once you have passed the test, you will need to get your permit validated. When you validate your permit, you may also schedule your road test. If you are under 21, you must wait six months to take your road test. If you are over 21, then you only need to wait three months. Your permit is valid for two years.
Once you have completed your driving practice with your Examination Permit, you may then apply for a Probationary New Jersey Driver’s License. With your Probationary License, you may drive on your own with no supervision. If you are under 21, your passengers are limited to your dependents and one extra person (unless accompanied by a parent or guardian). You also must still follow the restriction of no driving between 11:01 PM and 5:00 AM.
To get your Probationary New Jersey license, you must complete the road test. You may schedule the test online or at the MVC. On the day of your road test, you will need to bring:
The State of NJ license road test gives you the opportunity to demonstrate your safe driving skills and knowledge of the road rules. The test will typically last 10-15 minutes. If you fail your road test, you must wait at least two weeks to test again.
Once you pass your road test, you will fill out the application form and pay the probationary license fee of $6.00. Then, you will have your picture taken and receive your probationary driver’s license.
The final step to getting a NJ driver license is to apply for your basic driver license. The basic New Jersey driver license requirements include driving with your probationary license for at least one year and being at least 18 years old. These are the steps you need to take to get your official NJ driver’s license.
Your license expiration date will be the same as your probationary driver’s license.
How much does it cost to get a driver’s license? The NJ driver’s license cost depends on which type of license you are getting. Here’s a New Jersey driver’s license cost breakdown.
|Type of Permit
|Student Learner’s Permit
Are you wondering how to get a driver’s license in New Jersey if you are moving to the area from another state? If you have recently moved to New Jersey, then you are required to transfer your out-of-state license within 60 days of your move or before your current license expires (whichever comes first).
To transfer your out-of-state license you must be at least 17 years old. If you are under 17, you are not permitted to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license and must complete the full GDL program.
If you want to obtain a NJ drivers license after moving to the state, you must:
Both the knowledge and road tests are waived as long as your current driver’s license is in good standing.
Along with obtaining your state of NJ license, you will likely need to register your out-of-state vehicle. After moving to New Jersey, you have 60 days to register your vehicle. Before registering your car, you must obtain New Jersey liability insurance. To register your vehicle, you will first want to visit a local MVC Agency and request an “Initial Packet.” This will include all of the forms needed to register your vehicle.
Then, you will need to follow these steps:
After you have registered your vehicle, you must get it inspected within 14 days.
You can make an appointment at any time either online or at an MVC location. However, it is recommended that you schedule online as the lines can get very long in person.
Proof of NJ residency includes:
The drivers license cost in NJ is $24 for both a basic license and a renewal.
To replace a lost license, you must order a duplicate license online.
If you require a New Jersey change of address driver’s license, you must do so online.
You are considered a resident after spending 183 days in your new home.
Now that you know how to get a driver’s license in New Jersey, it’s time to get started! If you are planning a move to New Jersey or are planning on relocating within the state, then get in touch with the experts at Harrington Moving & Storage. Give our team a call today at 973-313-2246 to get started with a free quote!
"*" indicates required fields